Stockport and District Chess League

Minutes of the Annual Fixtures Meeting, 22 September 2016

1. Attendance and Apologies

Officers present were: John Turner (Chair), Geoff Laurence (Fixtures Secretary), Reg Clucas (Registrations Secretary and Website Manager), Neil Dainty (Secretary).

Total Present (29 from all 11 clubs) were:-

Altrincham: Vijay Kakarparthi

Chorlton: David Kierman

Denton: Dave Cook, Alan Williamson, Ivan Urwin

East Cheshire: Geoff Smith, Paul Bamford, Myles Heywood, Keith Hodgson

Holmes Chapel: Ian Bates

Macclesfield: Richard Murphy, Mick Renshaw, John Paul Taylor

Marple & District: Terry Cowling, Glenn Trueman, Jeff Barlow

Sale & District: John Hennessy, Neil Oddie

Stockport: Mike Taylor, Peter Taylor, Gareth Griffiths, Andy Reeve, Ian Anderson

Urmston: John Reyes

Wilmslow: Mike Palmer.

The Secretary had received apologies from Phil Cattermole, David Holt, Jeff Mason and Tony Flynn.

2. Minutes of the 2015 Fixtures Meeting

The minutes were accepted.

3. Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4.Summer Rapidplay

Peter Taylor reported that the event had run very smoothly and thanked Reg for transferring everything to the website so quickly. He proposed to run the event again next summer and this was welcomed by the members.

John Hennessy thanked him on behalf of Sale whose members had enjoyed the games despite their results.

5. Updates of club venues, officials, match nights.

East Cheshire: Secretary is now Myles Heywood

Sale & District: Secretary John Hennessy, Captain Neil Oddie

Stockport: Venue is now Ladybrook Hotel. B team captain is Dave Toole

Wilmslow: Secretary is now Colin Mills

6. Divisions for 2016-2017 season. Confirmation of teams in divisions and Limit League.

Urmston applied to join the league and were welcomed and Chorlton entered a second team. Altrincham and Marple withdrew from the Limit League. There was a brief discussion about raising the grading limit to encourage further entries to the Limit League, but this was not pursued.

The Fixtures Secretary suggested the allocation of teams to divisions and these were confirmed by the members. It was agreed that the Limit League teams would play each other three teams following a vote by the four clubs involved. Lots were then drawn to decide which two teams would have an extra home game. All fixtures must be completed by May 12th.

7. Any Other Business:-

The President referred to his interest in publicity raised at the AGM. Terry Cowling said that he had followed this up with Chris Baker who had in turn spoken to Sean Hewitt, but not heard any further. The President asked to be kept informed. He then reminded the members of his request for nominations for Vice President.

Andy Reeve asked clubs to remind their members not to take food and drinks to venues where those items can be purchased.

John Reyes asked if our ECF representative would be attending the whole of the next annual meeting. He was informed that this had been discussed at the AGM and Sean's explanation had been accepted.

John also mentioned central Manchester Social Chess Club, a new club which meets at the Crown & Anchor (Northern Quarter) on Tuesdays from 7p.m. He encouraged people to pop in.

Geoff reminded clubs that it was agreed at the AGM that both captains are now required to submit results with 48 hours of the end of matches.

8. Draw for The Charnley Cup

This was done by the drawing of lots

9. Draw for The President’s Cup

Completed by the drawing of lots

10. Setting of match fixtures by club representatives

Completed and the fixtures handed to the Fixtures Secretary.