Stockport and District Chess League AFM 2018

Minutes of the Annual Fixtures Meeting

held on Wednesday September 19th. 2018 at the Ladybrook Hotel, Fir Lane, Bramhall 

1. Attendance and apologies

Officers and Officials present were:

Glenn Trueman (Chair, President, Stockport and Ashton), Neil Dainty (Minutes, Secretary, Marple), Geoff Laurence (Fixtures Secretary, Macclesfield), Reg Clucas (Website Manager, Altrincham), John Reyes (ECF Representative, Urmston)

Others present:

East Cheshire: Paul Bamford, Steve McCall, Keith Hodgson

Holmes Chapel: John M Turner, Ian Bates

Marple: Terry Cowling

Northenden: John Hennessy, Anthony Hunt, Neil Oddie

Stockport: Mike Taylor, Ian Anderson

Wilmslow: Colin Mills 17 in total, 10 clubs

The Secretary had received apologies in advance from Jeff Mason, Damien McElvenny and David Kierman. Apologies also on behalf of Andy Reeve.

There were several comments from members that Denton were not represented again.

2. Minutes of the 2017 Annual Fixtures meeting were accepted.

3. There were no matters arising from the Annual Fixtures Meeting

4. Matters Arising from the 2018 AGM

Child Welfare: The Secretary said that he had just written to the clubs asking for their policies as instructed at the AGM. In reply to a comment that a DBS is only valid on the day it is issued, Glenn said that there is a live alternative available at extra cost. (This is known as Update Service. Sec). There was a discussion about the legal position and it was obvious that there was an urgent need to progress this. Club Secretaries were asked to reply as soon as possible so that the Committee could progress this.

5. Summer Rapidplay

Once again members were delighted with this competition. Ashton had asked that home clubs advise their opponents in advance if digital clocks are not available so that away teams can provide them if they wish. (Ashton players are mainly juniors with little or no experience of analogue clocks). Terry Cowling said that, with hindsight, ten clubs was probably too many for one division. (It was actually eleven teams from eight clubs. Sec). There was general agreement on this point.

6. Updates of club details:

Urmston: Tim Plunkett is now captain

Holmes Chapel: Secretary is now Mike Lee

Wilmslow: Ashley Weinberg is now Limit League captain

Reg asked all three clubs to provide contact details for the above.

7. Divisions for 2018-19

Geoff explained that Chorlton B and Stockport D had withdrawn and Worsley had joined. There were two additions to the Limit League, Ashton and Stockport. The allocation of divisions was accepted.

8. Any Other Business

a. The President thanked John Turner once again for his service in the role and said that one of John’s major contributions had been the “Spirit of Chess” which covers all aspects of good behaviour in the game. He said that it had been adopted by other Leagues and recommended everyone to read it again. He distributed copies and pointed out that it is also available on the website.

b. Reg was asked to see if a link to the current FIDE laws of chess could be put on the website. (Reg later confirmed that the link already existed. Sec.)

c. John Reyes asked who the League wanted him to vote for in the forthcoming ECF election for Director of Home Chess, Adrian Elwin or Tim Wall. It was agreed that John should make his own decision at the meeting.

9. The draw was made for the Charnley Cup

10. The draw was made for the President’s Cup.

11. Setting of Fixtures

Geoff had already issued provisional fixtures and some amendments were made. He stressed the importance of informing him if any fixture dates are changed. Once again there were numerous comments enthusiastically thanking him for improving the process, followed by a spontaneous round of applause.

12. Date of 2019 AGM

The Secretary was asked to arrange this for May 21st. if possible, if not the 23rd.